Skip to content

Volunteer Trip – York

October 3, 2013

A week or two ago we took our volunteers on the annual trip. The volunteers don’t pay anything for it, we pay for the coach, lunch etc as a “thank you” to them for all the time they give up to help us out.

This year we took them down to York for a visit to the National Railway Museum, a High Tea at Betty’s and some free time to shop or do whatever else they might fancy.

Philip and I at Betty's

Philip and I at Betty’s

At NRM we were lucky enough to catch up with Amy, who used to be the Assistant House Steward here at Cragside. She is now an Interpretation Developer for the Railway Museum and doing very well at it. I know the volunteers were pleased to see her and see how well she’s doing, as was I.

In the afternoon, during our free time, Philip and I went on the Yorkshire Wheel, which is York’s equivalent of the London Eye. Or rather, I pestered Philip to go on with me. Unfortunately I realised once the thing started moving that I’m not a fan of heights. It went round 4 (!) times; just when I thought I could get off it would go around again. Nightmare.

Comments are closed.

